CAT -Cyber Appellate Tribunal (CAT)

In accordance with the provision contained under Section 48(1) of the IT Act 2000, the Cyber Regulations Appellate Tribunal (CRAT) has been established in October 2006. The Cyber Regulations Appellate Tribunal after the amendment of the IT Act in the year 2008 (which came into effect on 27.10.2009) is known as the Cyber Appellate Tribunal (CAT). As per the IT Act, any person aggrieved by an order made by the Controller of Certifying Authorities, or by an adjudicating officer under this Act may prefer an appeal before the Cyber Appellate Tribunal. This Tribunal is headed by a Chairperson who is appointed by the Central Government by notification as provided under Section 49 of the IT Act 2000.

Before the amendment of the IT Act in the year 2009, the Chairperson was known as the Presiding Officer. Provision has been made in the amended Act for the Tribunal to comprise a Chairperson and such number of other members as the Central Government may notify / appoint.

Read more here.


ICERT- Indian Computer Emergency Response Team

CERT-In has been designated under Section 70B of Information Technology (Amendment) Act 2008 to serve as the national agency to perform the following functions in the area of cyber security:

  • Collection, analysis and dissemination of information on cyber incidents
  • Forecast and alerts of cyber security incidents
  • Emergency measures for handling cyber security incidents
  • Coordination of cyber incident response activities
  • Issue guidelines, advisories, vulnerability notes and whitepapers relating to information security practices, procedures, prevention, response and reporting of cyber incidents

For more information click here:


CAA- Controller of Certifying Authorities

Section 18 of the Information Technology Act, 2000 provides legal sanctity to digital signatures based on asymmetric cryptosystems at par with signed paper documents. The section 17 of the Act provides for the Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA) to license and regulate the working of Certifying Authorities. The Certifying Authorities issue digital signature certificates for electronic authentication of users.

The Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA) has established the Root Certifying Authority of India (RCAI) under section 18(b) of the IT Act to digitally sign the public keys of Certifying Authorities (CA) in the country. The CCA certifies the public keys of CAs using its own private key, which enables users in the cyberspace to verify that a given certificate is issued by a licensed CA.

Find more details here:

Select Your Bank

• Site Map