# **Board of Directors**



























## **Board of Directors**

## 1 S DHANABALAN, Chairman (retired 31 Dec 2005)

Appointed 1 July 1999, he worked in DBS Bank from 1968 to 1978 before spending 16 years as a Cabinet Minister in the Singapore government. He is the current Chairman of Temasek Holdings (Pte) Ltd. Age 68.

#### 2 KOH BOON HWEE, Chairman

Appointed 15 June 2005, he is Executive Director of MediaRing Ltd and Chairman and CEO of Sunningdale Tech Ltd (formerly known as Tech Group Asia Ltd). Mr Koh was formerly Managing Director of Hewlett Packard in Singapore from 1985-1990 and Executive Chairman of the Wuthelam Group from 1991-2000. He is also a director of Temasek Holdings (Pte) Ltd and Chairman of the Council of Nanyang Technological University. Age 56.

#### 3 JACKSON TAI, Vice Chairman & Chief Executive Officer

Appointed 13 May 2001, he has been Chief Executive Officer since June 2002. A United States citizen, he joined DBS in 1999 as Chief Financial Officer and was made President and Chief Operating Officer in January 2001. Prior to joining DBS, Mr Tai served 25 years at J.P. Morgan & Co as an investment banker. He is also a director of Singapore Telecommunications Ltd and CapitaLand Ltd. Age 55.

#### 4 FRANK WONG KWONG SHING, Chief Operating Officer

Appointed 16 September 2003, he is Chief Operating Officer of DBS Group Holdings and DBS Bank, Vice Chairman of DBS Bank and Chairman of DBS Bank (Hong Kong). A British citizen, he brings over 30 years of experience in financial markets, having worked for Citibank, J.P. Morgan and NatWest Markets, and in Hong Kong, Frankfurt, London and Singapore. Mr Wong is also Director of China Mobile (HK) Ltd. Age 58.

#### 5 ANG KONG HUA, Director

Appointed 21 March 2005, he is Executive Director of NatSteel Ltd in charge of strategic matters. Prior to this, he was Chief Executive Officer of NatSteel for 28 years. Mr Ang also serves on the boards of Neptune Orient Lines, K1 Ventures Limited and the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation. Age 62.

#### 6 GOH GEOK LING, Director

Appointed 3 May 2004. Prior to his retirement in October 1999, he was in the electronics industry for 29 years. He spent 28 years with Texas Instruments Singapore Pte Ltd where he last held the post of Managing Director. Following the acquisition of Texas Instruments Singapore's assets by Micron Technology Inc in 1998, he became the Managing Director of Micron Semiconductor Asia Pte Ltd. Mr Goh is also a Council Member of Nanyang Technological University. Age 65.

## 7 KWA CHONG SENG, Director

Appointed 29 July 2003, he is Chairman and Managing Director of ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd and the Lead Country Manager for the ExxonMobil Companies in Singapore. He is also Deputy Chairman of Temasek Holdings (Pte) Ltd. Mr Kwa also serves on the Public Service Commission and the Legal Service Commission in Singapore. Age 59.

## 8 LEUNG CHUN YING, Director

Appointed 22 July 2002, he is Chairman of DTZ Debenham Tie Leung Asia, a property services company. He was extensively involved in the establishment of Hong Kong as a Special Administrative Region, having served as a Vice Chairman of the Preparatory Committee and the Provisional Legislative Council. He continues to be actively involved in public service in Hong Kong, having been a member of the Hong Kong Executive Council since 1997. Currently, he is the Convenor of the Executive Council. Age 51.

## 9 NARAYANA MURTHY, Director

Appointed 19 August 2003, he is Chairman of Infosys Technologies Ltd, a company he co-founded and in which he had served as Chief Executive Officer for 20 years. An Indian citizen, he is also a director on the Central Board of the Reserve Bank of India, and a member of the Indian Prime Minister's Council on Trade and Industry. Age 59.

## 10 PETER ONG BOON KWEE, Director

Appointed 26 March 2003, he is Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Trade and Industry. Prior to that, he was Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Transport and second Permanent Secretary (Defence) at the Ministry of Defence. From 1998 to 2000, he was seconded to Temasek Holdings (Pte) Ltd as an Executive Vice President. He is the current Chairman of the Maritime and Port Authority. Age 44.

#### 11 JOHN A ROSS, Director

Appointed 6 February 2003, he is a retired banker. Prior to his retirement in February 2002, he was Corporate Chief Operating Officer for the Deutsche Bank Group. Before joining Deutsche Bank in 1992, he spent 21 years at the Bank of New York, where he was last its Executive Vice President, Head of Global Asset and Liability Management. A United States citizen, Mr Ross is a Trustee of the German Marshall Fund, the Jewish Museum, the Metropolitan Opera Guild and Hobart & William Smith Colleges. Age 61.

# 12 WONG NGIT LIONG. Director

Appointed 3 May 2004, he has been the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Venture Group since 1986. Prior to that, he spent more than 12 years with the Hewlett Packard Company. Mr Wong also serves on the boards of SIA Engineering Company and Royal Philips Electronics. Age 65.

Note: Andrew Buxton, former chairman of Barclays Bank Plc, was appointed a director in February 2006.